A Quick and Easy Weeknight Meal!

Hi readers!

I apologize in advance- I’ve fallen slightly off the bandwagon! New work has kept me busy and traveling (yay!), but has left a lot less time for cooking for fun (boo!).

I thought I would share one of my go-to midweek staples. It’s not Middle Eastern, it’s not quite American, it’s my own spin :). Let’s call it “New Chop-Suey” as an homage to my New England roots. And friends, if you have any recipes that you want simplified or a Middle Eastern dish you’re dying to make at home, PLEASE give me ideas. I love taking requests and love seeing what my readers make off of my recipes!

I really like using ground turkey. It’s a great lower fat alternative to beef, it holds flavor well, doesn’t taste weird when you reheat it like other poultry AND it’s cheap. You can always find it for $2.99/lb at Trader Joe’s! I was originally intending to play around with crumbled tempeh (vegan protein alternative) for this recipe , but the turkey was on sale so I went with the cheaper option! That being said, this recipe would work great with soy meat crumbles, crumbled tempeh or even Tuscan white beans.

You can get this baby done in about 20 minutes! Yum!

You’ll need:

  • 1 lb ground turkey (or 1 package tempeh, or 2 cans of drained and rinsed white beans)
  • 1 can diced tomatoes
  • 1 box of your pasta of choice (I used rotini)
  • 3 stalks of chopped kale
  • 1 tbsp minced garlic
  • 1/4 cup pine nuts
  • 1 tsp olive oil
  • salt, pepper, crushed red pepper flakes to taste
  • Grated Parmesan

In a large pot, heat salted water and bring to a boil for the pasta.

Once the pasta is cooking, in a medium sauce pan (great if it has a lid), heat oil and cook turkey through. Drain the fat when done.

Return turkey to the pan on medium heat and add a can of tomatoes:

Add garlic. I know the tomatoes already had it, but you can never have enough garlic in my opinion ;-). Add in the salt, pepper and chili flakes as well.

Throw in a handful of pine nuts:

Remove the stems and chop the kale. I was lazy and didn’t want to dirty a chopping board, so I broke it into pieces with my hands.

Cover the saute pan and let the kale steam down for 2-3 minutes. This is what it’ll look like when it’s done!

Now, you can either combine the pasta into the saute pan when it’s done, or serve separately. I decided to keep them separate because I’m kind of calorie counting at the moment. Ewww.

Feel free to eat as is, or garnish with some grated cheese and hot sauce. This is currently my go-to brand! I found it at a craft fair in Brooklyn a couple months back and boy, it’s potent stuff! Check out their products with the link below. I also like that it’s called Fil-fil, which means pepper in Arabic :).

https://www.filfilfoods.com/

 

And ta-da! Healthy and easy. Not a lot of clean up and fills you up well!

Leave a Reply

